Item # 12032Z BRAND: Eastwood

Eastwood UNDERHOOD BLACK® Matte Aerosol 11 oz

Acrylic lacquer for an OEM-matching matte finish under the hood
Acrylic lacquer for an OEM-matching matte finish under the hood
Eastwood UNDERHOOD BLACK® Matte Aerosol 11 oz is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 51.
  • y_2022, m_12, d_5, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_12032Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 110.69ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$19.99
Loading...
Save for Later
Acrylic lacquer for an OEM-matching matte finish under the hood

90 day Warranty Included

100% Satisfaction Guarantee Since 1978
We stand behind our solutions and customers.

  • • 90 Day Returns
  • • Lifetime Tech Support
Eastwood UNDERHOOD BLACK® Matte Aerosol 11 oz

Product Overview:

Description

UNDERHOOD BLACK® Matte is the correct shade of black, having just the right matte finish many older car manufacturers used on radiator supports, inner fenders, firewalls, underhood brackets, and other parts. Hardware store black paints are either too thick, too glossy, or the wrong color. Just clean, degrease, and prepare the parts well, then spray on for a "factory-like" finish. This acrylic lacquer withstands up to 250° F and goes on thin for a smooth finish that will not hide surface details. Made in the USA. Coverage approx 6 sq ft. 5%-9% Gloss Level.

Warranty

90 Day

In the Box

Contents

NET WEIGHT 11OZ

Guides & Accessories

Safety Information

always wear skin, eye and respiratory protection when painting do not use near an open flame. Always paint in a well ventilated area. consult MSDS for specific safety warnings and precautions.

Accessories

10041z PRE Painting Prep Eastwood Chassis Black Eastwood Ceramic Engine paints Spray Gray Detail Gray Aluma Blast Carb Renew Radiator Black

Application Tips

Use Underhood Black for the correct matte black finish used on inner fender, fire walls, brackets, and more on many cars. Underhood Black is an acrylic lacquer and withstands up to 250 degrees F. Use PRE Painting Prep (10041 Z) to remove residual grease/oil before painting. Use Self Etch Primer (16014 Z) Aerosol or (16009 ZP) Quart on clean metal surfaces. Note: Underhood Black is a Lacquer Paint. Do not use with ENAMEL primers. Use these products in a well ventilated area, or use a respirator.

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not fast drying. I bought this because they said it was fast drying. I am using for the underside of my hood. I wanted to spray a coat and then sand it to get out imperfections then another light coat. I wanted to put the hood on the next day. It takes 24 to 48 hours to dry fully. At this rate it would take me a week to get the hood done and on the car. I am now looking for a better paint.
Date published: 2019-09-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor quality - paint mixed wrong? the paint sprayed on as a mottled gray and black. When I emailed them about it they immediately offered to send another. The second can worked as expected but the problem cost me at least a month with all the shipping and waiting for warm enough weather. Hope the warranty on the rebuilt trans doesn't run out before I get it back in.
Date published: 2014-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from POOR QUALITY Eastwood must have reformulated this product. The car we did 2 years ago came out great but this paint (water?) has no body and no resistance to chemicals. Don't use if you plan on keeping your car !!!
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Little disappointed... I'm working on a 1986 Buick Grand National. I sand blasted, primed (with black primer), and then painted some of the underhood brackets and fuel rail with the aerosol version of this paint. I found that the spray had a hard time picking up the paint solids from the can and depositing them smoothly and evenly on the parts, and this was after shaking vigorously for several minutes. Even after three fairly heavy coats, there is still variation in the sheen of the paint as you look across the surfaces of a part. The sheen ranges from nearly flat to nearly semi-gloss on the same part. I also noticed that dry, black overspray particles got everywhere, and I mean everywhere. Clean-up in the basement took forever. Overall, the sheen of this paint is a little flatter than the factory black paint that was used on this vehicle. Quite frankly, the rustoleum primer I used looked smoother and more consistent than this paint did. If I ever do this again, I will order the quart and try running it through my sprayer or air brush, or I will try a different paint. The aerosol cans were just not that good.
Date published: 2011-07-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Loves to Splatter Have used this in the past with no problem. Ordered 2 cans recently. The labels are not the same as pictured any more, and the stuff splatters like crazy. Can't use it. Tired of sanding and starting over.
Date published: 2010-11-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from have used for 20+ years Used to love it, since Eastwood changed the spray nozzles the delivery of the product is no longer uniform or consistent. The last batch of spray Underhood Black spray have been a major frustration. I feel the major issue is the spray nozzles. I follow the the directions and the results have been disappointing, I have used the paint for many many years....
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Semi Gloss I sprayed my 67 mustang engine compartment with the quart of Semi Gloss, it has come out Matte not Semi Gloss. It went on great, just no gloss to it!
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Chips I've used this product years ago and it was great. Now it's junk. I cleaned, sanded, primed and painted the firewall with 3 coats. If you nick it with any tools it chips! A waste of my time. not to mention money!
Date published: 2018-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible product This simply is the worst Eastwood product I've used. I saw some positive reviews but my results were less than positive. Maybe the spray cans are better for this product.Looks terrible and was difficult to use and I'm no amateur.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible paint I don't normally write reviews but I felt compelled to warn others to stay away from this. I used the original product for years with good results but the formulation has changed. The current version has less gloss than the original and when fully cured it CHIPS EXTREMELY EASY. Any impact whatsoever will chip this paint. I was warned not to use this but because of good results I had with the original product I ignored the warning---big mistake! I would rate this a '0' if I had the option but it is not allowed.
Date published: 2015-06-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money Does not cover well, runs easy and drys unevenly. Very disappointed after using Krylon's Semi-flat black in the past with great results, I decided to try this stuff. It costs more than twice as much as Krylon as is by far an inferior product. It is very disappointing that Eastwood would allow their name to be associated with such poor quality.
Date published: 2014-10-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from melts when touched by gasoline Love Eastwood, hate this paint. Spritzed it while adjusting carb floats. The gas dropletts melted all the way down to the primer underneath. How can this be called "underhood" black if it cant be exposed to gas????
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Say "NO" to underhood paint I never write reviews but after using this product I felt others need to know how disastrous this paint is! It has zero resistance to chemicals that are found "under the hood"! It will completely wipe off in one swipe if you have any drips or spills on it. Engine paint, chassis paint or any other paint with chemical resistance is a better option.I need to do some repainting under my 72 k20 hood. Grrrr
Date published: 2013-03-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product no good Sandblasted a dash then used this paint. Dont waste your time or money. Have to redo my dash again.
Date published: 2012-04-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very poor product! This is a lacquer based product using 50 year old technology. Very poor resistance to chipping, abrasion and chemicals. It will not hold up. Only use it if you place 'for sale' signs in the window of your ride immediately. After spending many hours on prepping your metal, do yourself a huge favor and use either an enamel or better yet a catalyzed product such as urethane. Otherwise you will have wasted all of your time.
Date published: 2012-01-26
  • y_2022, m_12, d_5, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_12032Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 11.97ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Will this work over Eastwood urethane epoxy primer?

Asked by: NJseal
This product will certainly work over top of our Epoxy primer.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2016-03-29

Is the underhood Matt black paint compatible with Eastwood self watching primer?

Asked by: Dont
Self etch is a great primer to use before this Underhood paint.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2015-12-24

for new parts (ie radiator support, battery trays) with the black EDP coating, using the under hood black require any primer, or which primer, like epoxy, is best? 

Asked by: tom55
No primer is needed with the underhood black. Just usually a scuff clean and apply
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2016-05-04

Which paint would be correct for a 1963 corvette engine compartment and under side of the hood?

Asked by: Garth
The underhood black is a close to/almost OEM replication of most under hood paints. I would advise looking on forums to figure out which sheen was for a corvette.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2015-01-19

Can I spray Underhood Black over Chassis Black? I have some areas that overlap and I want to cover them.

Asked by: JBGarage
Yes, you can overlap the Chassis Black with the Underhood Black with no issues.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2015-07-25

I have been using Underhood Black in low gloss and see that is no longer available. Is semi gloss or matte equivalent?  If neither are is an equivalent available?  It needs to match what I have already used for touch up.

Asked by: Neil66
Matte = Flat . Semi Gloss = Low Gloss Sheen
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2014-11-10

do you need any reducers or activators for the quart can?

Asked by: gtoManiac
No it is not a catalyzed paint meaning no reducers or activator needed.
Answered by: SeanA
Date published: 2021-01-08

I plan on using Underhood Black on the front caliper body on my '76 Honda CB 550 motorcycle. Since the body is aluminum would a zinc-based primer be best or should I use something else?  And would a two-part finish resist exposure to brake fluid better?

Asked by: PAF67
Self Etch Primer will work well on the aluminum and under the Underhood Black. http://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-s-self-etch-primer-gray.html A two paint paint like our 2K AeroSpray Underhood Black will be more durable and resistant compared to a 1K paint. http://www.eastwood.com/eastwood-s-2k-aero-spray-ceramic-underhood-black.html
Answered by: NickC
Date published: 2014-09-29

is a primer needed or suggested for the under hood black paint?

Asked by: Norcal
Yes, you should prime all bare metal parts with our self-etching primer before using the Underhood Black. Painted parts should simply be scuffed and cleaned before application of this material.
Answered by: MikeL
Date published: 2016-02-18
  • y_2022, m_12, d_5, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_12032Z, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 112.25ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Eastwood UNDERHOOD BLACK® Matte Aerosol 11 oz
$19.99
In Stock