Item # 15841 BRAND: Eastwood

X-MAT® Sound Deadening 18x31 inches 34.8 SQ FT

Eliminate road noise and heat by applying under carpet, door panels, inner firewall and more.
Eliminate road noise and heat by applying under carpet, door panels, inner firewall and more.
X-MAT® Sound Deadening 18x31 inches 34.8 SQ FT is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 46.
  • y_2022, m_1, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_15841, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 211.81ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Reg. $104.99 Sale $94.97 Save $10.02
Loading...
Loading...
Save for Later
Eliminate road noise and heat by applying under carpet, door panels, inner firewall and more.
  • 90-Day Returns
  • Technical Support
X-MAT® Sound Deadening 18x31 inches 34.8 SQ FT

Product Overview:

Description

Best Heat & Sound Damping Material

Eliminate road noise, floor pan vibration and exhaust heat from your vehicle! XMAT® creates the ultimate in acoustic and thermal protection for your muscle car, street rod, boat or RV. This multi-layer insulation includes an aluminum facing surface and high-tack butyl rubber membrane that block out unwanted noise and heat. Reduce noise by up to 19 decibels and interior temperatures by up to 30 degrees so you can focus on enjoying your ride. Because of its design, X-MAT can be used as door panel insulation, trunk sound blockers, exhaust sound deadening material and even hood insulation for automotive use. This package includes nine 18-inch by 31-inch mats, giving you nearly 35 square feet of coverage for your car. The sheets can also be cut and formed to be an exact fit for your vehicle.

Great Performance & Value

In the sound deadening showdown, it's no contest. Lab testing has shown that Eastwood's butyl sound deadener offers equivalent performance to other name-brand products while costing significantly less. While sound deadening material comes standard in modern cars, many restorers also add it to older vehicles so they can enjoy present-day comfort while retaining that classic look. You may also need it as part of body repair or an aftermarket upgrade. Whatever your reason for needing it, X-MAT offers a low-profile heat and sound reduction barrier to block out natural rattles, vibrations and warmth. See our product videos and reviews to learn more!

Features:

  • All-purpose X-Mat with three layers offering excellent temperature and sound reduction.
  • Butyl rubber membrane absorbs road and driveline noise while high-performance aluminum facing reduces engine and exhaust heat.
  • Easily cut and installed under carpets, inside doors, and around speaker boxes and firewalls so you can enjoy your ride in greater comfort.
  • Conforms effortlessly to complex interior contours of floors, door and side panels.
  • Withstands temperatures up to 350 degrees. Reduces heat as much as 30 degrees and sound by as much as 19dB.
  • 9 sheets included
  • Covers 34.8 square feet
  • Perfect for keeping your ride cool, quiet and comfortable year-round

Weight per sq. ft. is 12.8 oz.



Warranty

Specifications

Mat Size:18" x 31" x 1/16"
Coverage (sq.ft.):34.8
Temp Reduction Up To:30ºF (23%)
dB Reduction Up To:19 (22%)
Best Applications:Under Carpet, Door Panels, Trunk, Stereo Enclosures, Under Dash, Inner Firewall

In the Box

Contents

Nine 18In. x 31In. sheets, approximately 34.8 square feet

Guides & Accessories

Safety Information

Wear gloves when cutting and applying this material

Click here to see safety products

Accessories

Application Tips

All-Purpose X-Mat With Three Layers Offering Excellent Temperature And Sound Reduction

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from X mat Easy to work with but don’t forget to get the roller
Date published: 2021-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from X mat pGreat product. Goes in place well with placement, fitting and ultimate result of sound and heat reduction
Date published: 2021-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Great sound deadening properties, and insulating characteristics. Used through my ‘56 Nomad build.
Date published: 2021-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff and easy to work with Although I can't address the performance of the product yet, as the vehicle is restoration project, I can attest to the installation process. I found the product to be easy to cut and install using a heavy duty scissors or utility knife . I used it on the floor of a Cobra Replica project that had many pieces, angles and curves. I especially liked the quality of the adhesive backing. It sticks and holds very well with just a little rolling (I used a formica roller). Because it sticks so well it is very easy to butt pieces together for an almost seamless installation and very little waste. I will definitely use it again. In fact, I have already bought more for a 240Z restoration project I'm working on.
Date published: 2021-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I got this for my 1949 willys wagon new floors. It is easy to cut and professional results are possible, only limited by your install skills. You can just throw it in there if you want, but to get jigsaw puzzel fitments takes a little time, but possible with a little patience and a gameplan,,,it looks so good I hate to cover it with carpet. Tape the joints with HVAC aluminumized tape, that tape stays put and wont come off, just killer! 10 hours to install in my rig, well worth it.
Date published: 2020-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I purchased this for the inside of my f100. The price was right and the amount of product was a surprise. I saw some reviews about stick quality but my order you had to line it up and she is stuck good. The noise inside of my cab is way down and rain on the roof is hardly noticeable.
Date published: 2020-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from x-mat i like it and is easy to use .this is the second time to use it .
Date published: 2020-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent deal I saw this was on sale with a no limit free shipping, I need it so I bought it right away great product
Date published: 2020-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff! I am restoring a 69 firebird. Car is not finished yet but XMat installed easily. specs are comparible to products that are much more expensive. If it works as well as it installed, it will be great. I expect it will!
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! Very easy to apply. Really cuts down on noise and heat. Love the stuff!
Date published: 2019-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used this for about 10 years own a classic restoration shop and use on all my cars. less expensive than the other name brand out there with same results. easy to use
Date published: 2018-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to work with I have installed this product in my 1955 Chevy truck and I really enjoyed working with it. The panels are large and have a certain amount of weight to them, but the sticky backing was sufficient to hang them vertically (on a well prepared surface) to remain applied without falling off. It's well designed product that I have yet to hear the difference on the road but I can already tell just by working in the cab of the truck it's going to be a lot more quiet and hopefully less heat will be transmitted from the transmission tunnel.
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent mat Less expensive than other name brand mat out there and works great. Easy to cut and install.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Alternate Application I purchased the X-MAT due to banging of my furnace's ductwork. The product was easy to cut and to apply. All of the ductwork banging is now gone. I am sure that the product is equally as effective on floor pans and inner door panels. I intend to use my extra product on the floor pan of my wife's Prius.
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great thermal and sound deadener I have installed this in my camaro and bought more to do my brothers camaro.
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product at a great price I stripped the interior of a 2013 Toyota Rav4, and applied the Xmat to all inner surfaces. Floor, inner quarters, inside doors, and inside rear hatch. What a major difference it made!! Now it's as smooth and quiet as a Lexus. Xmat is a great product. Thank you Eastwood!
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Excellent product. A really good price. It did the whole floor of my 65 Mustang.
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm going to buy some more!!! Great product. Easy enough to put down - but really need a roller to do the job right. So...buy the roller folks. :)
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I got 2 boxes to cover the floor in my 66 Caprice, Very good product, also, used the roller to put them on which is a must. I have 4 sheets left over I will use on door panels. Love this product though.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very happy Saw the product on line.bought it was deliver within a few days everything was perfect. great job guys.change nothing
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, great price Just finished installing in my pickup Goes in easier than Dynamat I will definitely use again
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product!! I bought one box and its A LOT thicker then other products I've used, easy to install, did the interior of my 1953 Chevy in a couple of hours, if you want to do the doors and trunk you'll need (2) boxes. it REALLY makes a difference, lowers road noise and keeps the interior cool.
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps Relieve Engine noise and road noise by 30 percent. I bought these mats as I have an old 93 ford f150. Driving around in it sounds like I am riding in military humvee, just loud. I installed these mats on the floor, up the fire wall and on the back wall in a standard cab. I took it for a ride once complete and to my surprise the truck is still loud inside the cab but not as loud. You could say the noise dropped about 30 percent. I still need to do the doors and that should help a little bit more. At least I don't have to have the radio on full blast anymore just to hear it.
Date published: 2021-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from X mat It applies easily and sticks well. I am still working with it and hope that the results are good.
Date published: 2021-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from X-MAT Take your time in laying out the pieces to minimize waste. Be aware of sharp edges. I had a couple cut fingers.
Date published: 2021-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was skeptical, but relieved that it worked well I have a Tundra Crewmax thats lifted with exhaust. I guess I'm getting old because the road noise was starting to wear on me. I figured I'd give this a try. It worked really well. I dont hear the 6th gear exhaust drone that was killing my ear drum, and I can actually hear podcasts without literally turning the stereo all the way up. It's a pleasure to drive again.
Date published: 2019-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No Match for HEADERS 78' Trans Am I have hooker headers and the X-Mat is no match for the headers(keep in mind they are not ceramic coated). I did place a strip inside both doors and that actually made a huge difference. The car is from 78' so it needs more than this to get it quiet. It was a better value when it was cheaper.
Date published: 2018-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Need two sheets more to complete the job I used all - efficiently (less than 2 sf scrap). Still need two more sheets to complete the floor pan of my 63 Nova - not a very large pan. Otherwise, It went on easily, and looks good. Still need a road test.
Date published: 2018-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much better price than competition Gave it 4 stars because it could be more sticky. That's my only real complaint. Looks and feels like competition products like dino(saur) mat. Does the same job at half the price. Used this one box (34 sq ft) on 3 different vehicles. Put it in the doors and trunk of all three. Really kills road noise and helps with audio quality. I did waste some, though, because I forgot to clean the spot I was going to put it. This is a must. If the spot is dirty or wet it won't stick and may lose it's stickiness. Once it's stuck, though, it's stuck.
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from worked great thicker than other products I've trie Used on my 56 Chevy. Keep the box on the shelf in my shop. Gets warm in the south, so it was sticky when applied. I just placed the box in my fridge for a couple hours and made it easier to apply. This stuff worded great. I have used it on two other vehicles.
Date published: 2017-08-06
  • y_2022, m_1, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_15841, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 93.4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Can I put this on my RV plywood floor and install vinyl interlocking flooring on top?

Asked by: Hetken1
We never tested it under vinyl interlocking flooring. It may cause the title to shift.
Answered by: Dakota W
Date published: 2018-11-12

Are any of these products suitable for a boat engine compartment? Are they closed cell so that they will absorb or retain moisture

Asked by: Alan
None of our sticky back heat and sound barrier products have ever been tested in a marine environment for longevity. The best bet would be our Heat and Sound barrier since this product is catalyzed and very durable. https://www.eastwood.com/heat-and-sound-barrier-coating-1-5-gallon-kit.html
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2018-07-09

How many boxes would it take to do the floor pan and inside firewalls of a 67 mustang?

Asked by: Jerry
Since each box covers 34.8 SQ FT a simple measurement of the areas you wish to cover should get you the number of boxes you need.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2021-03-29

Can this product be used when applied over top of the Sound & Heat spray on product (15632ZP)? Will the texture of the Sound & Heat product inhibit the X-Mat’s ability to properly adhere?

Asked by: Nate
We have never tested any products over the heat and sound barrier as they are designed to be used one or the other. It may be possible but we have simply never tested it.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2021-02-04

Will this melt and drip under door panels like the other sound deadner in moderate temps. even in shop temps.I have got from you ?

Asked by: Dustu
Our X-mat is a thermally stable product which has been thoroughly tested prior to being release. You can install this product with up most confidence.
Answered by: Scott C
Date published: 2021-01-19

This is going to sound silly, but I have a very loud generator for my RV. Will this product help cut the sound if I enclose the generator with it? With exhaust of course.

Asked by: Ritz
Talk to Don at SDS sound deadener showdown. If you aren't putting it directly on the exhaust pipe, I think you should use mass loaded vinyl with a closed cell foam to decouple the MLV sound block 
Answered by: Sandiegocamaro
Date published: 2017-09-23

Can X mat be used on the roof of a work van? Will it become loose and fall over time?

Asked by: Chester 1
For under roof and hood we recommend using our Underhood/headliner version. http://www.eastwood.com/x-mat-underhood-and-headliner-51x39x1-4.html
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2019-01-27

How can x-mat be removed if necessary?

Asked by: Jackcvx
if it true butyl, it shoul dnot be easy to remove, 'chuch says yes" than I question th estaying power of product, as others stated this product is inferior
Answered by: mrbillp
Date published: 2019-12-16

Is this water proof or water resistant? Looking to use it on a UTV, will see some moisture.

Asked by: BOB_UTV
This product is not designed to be used in areas where moisture builds up. Try our Heat and sound barrier product.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-06-01

Can this be applied in 2 layers on firewall, floors and headliners?

Asked by: Dave H
This product is not designed to be applied in two layers or on firewalls or under headliners.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2018-11-29

Will it stick to wood?

Asked by: Bgregg24
As long as the wood is properly prepped and cleaned you should have no problem sticking the X-mat to it.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2017-05-21

is cleaning the surface being applied to required before install

Asked by: C Parker
You will want to thoroughly clean the surface with our PRE to ensure the best adhesion of this product.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2021-01-19

Does this product (15841) have an adhesive backing?

Asked by: Sprat
This product will have an adhesive backing.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2021-01-19

How thick is this ?  

Asked by: Ole Morten
The X-mat in the low profile version is 1/16 inch thick.
Answered by: S Church
Date published: 2021-03-01

What is the R-value (thermal resistance "per unit area.") of X-MAT? (Temp difference x Area/heat flow)

Asked by: David

I'm putting this in a 1996 Chevelle. The car has a channel in the floor pan that the wiring runs to the back. Should the wiring go underneath or on top of the X-Mat? Thanks.

Asked by: mas439
  • y_2022, m_1, d_19, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_15841, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_eastwood
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 253.33ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
X-MAT® Sound Deadening 18x31 inches 34.8 SQ FT
Reg. $104.99 Sale $94.97 Save $10.02
In Stock